SOAS University of London

SOAS University of London is a public research university in London, England, and a constituent college of the federal University of London. Founded in 1916, SOAS is located in the heart of Bloomsbury, in central London.

SOAS is one of the world’s leading institutions for the study of Asia, Africa, and the Middle East. It houses the Brunei Gallery, built from an endowment from the Sultan of Brunei Darussalam, and inaugurated by the Princess Royal, as Chancellor of the University of London, on 22 November 1995. The Brunei Gallery hosts a programme of changing contemporary and historical exhibitions from Asia, Africa and the Middle East with the aim to present and promote cultures from these regions.

SOAS is divided into three faculties: Faculty of Arts and Humanities, Faculty of Languages and Cultures and Faculty of Law and Social Sciences. It is home to the SOAS School of Law which is one of leading law schools in the UK. The university offers around 350 undergraduate bachelor’s degree combinations, more than 100 one-year master’s degrees and PhD programmes in nearly every department. The university has one of the best small group teaching ratios in the UK, with a student-staff ratio of 11:1.

SOAS is ranked 44th by The Complete University Guide 2020, 58th by The Guardian University Guide 2020 and 36th by The Times/Sunday Times Good University Guide 2020. It is ranked 6th in the world for Development Studies by QS World University Rankings 2020 (4th in the world in 2018). The university has produced several heads of states, government ministers, diplomats, central bankers, Supreme Court judges, a Nobel Peace Prize Laureate and many other notable leaders around the world. SOAS is a member of Association of Commonwealth Universities.

RegionCentral Europe
CountryUnited Kingdom
European University Rankings163
Central European University Rankings138
National University Rankings37
Official Website

Find a course

Explore your opportunities

Similar Universities

King’s College London
Newcastle University
University of Bristol
University of Essex

Connect with University:

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | YouTube | LinkedIn

Campus Locations

SOAS University of London Thornhaugh Street, Bloomsbury, London, WC1H 0XG, United Kingdom

European Higher Education Organization is a public organization carrying out academic, educational and information activities on higher education in Europe.

The EHEO general plan stresses that:

  • Higher education systems require adequate funding and, as an investment in economic growth, public spending in higher education should be protected.
  • The challenges faced by higher education require more flexible governance and funding systems, which balance greater autonomy for education institutions with accountability to stakeholders.

Thus, EHEO plans:

  • improve academic and scientific interaction of universities;
  • protect the interests of universities;
  • interact more closely with public authorities of European countries;
  • popularize European higher education in the world;
  • develop academic mobility;
  • seek funding for European universities.